The three divisions of the Tipitaka are the :

Vinaya Pitaka (Basket of rules on conduct)

The collection of texts concerning the rules of conduct governing the daily affairs within the Sangha (the community of bhikkhus (ordained monks) and bhikkhunis (ordained nuns)). Far more than merely a list of rules, the Vinaya Pitaka also includes the stories behind the origin of each rule, providing a detailed account of the Buddha's solution to the question of how to maintain communal harmony within a large and diverse spiritual community.


Sutta Pitaka (Basket of Discourses)

This collection of suttas, or discourses, attributed to the Buddha and a few of his closest disciples, containing all the central teachings of Buddhism.


and subsequently included teachings that formed the

Abhidhamma Pitaka (Basket of the Higher Teachings)

which sets out a collection of texts, comentaries in which the underlying doctrinal principles presented in the Sutta Pitaka are explained in a systematic theoretical framework that can be applied to an investigation into the nature of mind and matter.


The Sutta Pitaka (Basket of Discourses) consists of all the teachings that were delivered by the Buddha and his main disciples. These discourses are divided among five nikayas (collections) which are divided into numerous vaggas (volumes) and subsequently into the various suttas. The main nikayas that constituent the teachings are:

Digha Nikaya - the "long discourses"

* Majjhima Nikaya - the "middle-length discourses"

* Samyutta Nikaya - the "grouped discourses"

* Anguttara Nikaya - the "further-factored discourses"

* Khuddaka Nikaya - the "collection of stanzas":