The Sutta Pitaka (Basket of Discourses) consists of all the teachings that were delivered by the Buddha and his main disciples. These discourses are divided among five nikayas (collections) which are divided into numerous vaggas (volumes) and subsequently into the various suttas. The main nikayas that constituent the teachings are:

Digha Nikaya - the "long discourses"

* Majjhima Nikaya - the "middle-length discourses"

* Samyutta Nikaya - the "grouped discourses"

* Anguttara Nikaya - the "further-factored discourses"

* Khuddaka Nikaya - the "collection of stanzas":




The Collection of Long Discourses - This collection makes up the first major division of the Sutta Pitika or Basket of Discourses. It consists of thirty-four long discourses of the Buddha grouped into three vaggas or volumes that are the:

1. Silakkhandha-vagga — The Large Division Concerning Morality (13 suttas)

2. Maha-vagga — The Great Division (10 suttas)

3. Patika-vagga — The Patika's Division (11 suttas)

The discourses in these volumes or divisions describe the Buddha's teachings, give historical accounts of his life, describe teachings of other religions of that time and narate question and answers sessions on a variety of subjects. As a whole, these discourses give a comprehensive description of the ethics, instructions and understanding of his teachings.

The Majjhima Nikaya (-nikāya; "Collection of Middle-length Discourses") is a Buddhist scripture, the second of the five nikayas, or collections, in the Sutta Pitaka, which is one of the "three baskets" that compose the Pali Tipitaka of Theravada Buddhism. This nikaya consists of 152 discourses attributed to the Buddha and his chief disciples.